A New Series Worth Trying

Are you interested in starting a great new series this summer? Look no further than the All Souls trilogy by Deborah Harkness. This series begins with A Discovery of Witches with the second book,Shadow of Night.

The first book is about Diana Bishop, an academic working at Oxford’s Bodleian Library. She is also a witch reluctant to embrace her magical abilities. While looking through alchemical texts she encounters an enchanted manuscript, “Ashmole 782”, that she is able to open but recalls back to the shelves. What she doesn’t realize is that opening the book will change her life.

The book is valued by different types of beings, including fellow witches, daemons, and vampires, for the knowledge it is said to contain. One of these vampires is Matthew Clermont, a 1500 year old, who meets her in the library and ends up helping her try to figure out more about the book. Along the way a romance develops between the two and they plan to take drastic measures to learn more about the secrets of the book.

If you enjoy books that make history exciting, books in general, or books that contain elements of fantasy and romance, then these books are for you. They may be long but they’re definitely worth reading. I promise you won’t regret it.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: